Sainz takes Belgian GP pole

Due to grid penalties for power unit changes, the qualifying order does not really reflect the starting grid – like Verstappen, Charles Leclerc, Lando Norris, Stephen Ocon, Zhou Guanyu and Mick Schumacher everything will start at the back.

So Sainz will start ahead of Red Bull Sergio Perez and Alpineit is Fernando Alonso after the hour-long qualifying session, which is split into three segments with five cars each eliminated in Q1 and Q2 before the Q3 top 10 shootout.

Read also :

Starting grid for the Belgian Grand Prix, after application of penalties:

What happened during the Belgian Grand Prix Q1?

After a 25-minute delay due to barrier repairs following a support race accident, Verstappen set the pace at 1m44.581s, ahead of Sainz at 1m45.050s, 0.469s slower, and Perez three tenths slower. .

At the first obstacle, Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin), Nicholas Latifi (Williams), Kevin Magnussen (Haas), Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) and Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) fell. However, due to the grid penalties of the drivers in front, this quintet all moved up the grid to fill the places of 10e on the back.

Belgian Grand Prix Q1 results: Sainz fastest Verstappen

What happened at the Belgian Grand Prix Q2?

Verstappen set the bar at 1m44.723s, 0.071s ahead of Perez and with Sainz in third – who was 0.695s behind. Leclerc had a lousy lap, complaining about his car’s handling in low-speed corners and dropping a wheel in the dirt as he approached the Fagnes.

Leclerc raced again late in the session and produced 1m44.551s to top the times by 0.172s.

Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren, who will start seventh), Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri, eighth), Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo), Lance Stroll (Aston Martin, ninth) and Mick Schumacher (Haas) – three of them will step onto the grid in due to penalties imposed on others, Zhou and Schumacher heading for the back.

Belgian Grand Prix Q2 results: Verstappen fastest Leclerc

What happened at the Q3 Belgian Grand Prix?

On the opening runs, Verstappen led the way in 1m43.665s to Sainz by 0.632s, with Perez third in 1m44.462s.

Leclerc squandered his new tires in his first race, giving Sainz a tow, so he ran one more lap and could only manage 1m44.553s in fourth, 0.888s off the pace.

Verstappen stayed in the pits for the last few races, so Perez didn’t get towed. Leclerc came out of the pits late to give Sainz a big tow but the lap didn’t work out as he ran wide at Fagnes so he stayed second – but it was enough for pole as Perez didn’t get away. is not upgraded either and will start alongside him in the front row.

Verstappen’s fastest time in Q3 means he will start 15e. Leclerc qualified fourth but will start behind Verstappen in 16e.

Esteban Ocon (Alpine) was fifth fastest but drops to 17e. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) will start third, ahead of the Mercedes duo of Lewis Hamilton and George Russell. Alex Albon will start fifth for Williams and qualify faster than Lando Norris’ McLaren (which drops to 18e).

Read also :

Belgian Grand Prix Q3 results: Verstappen fastest, Sainz inherits pole

Read also :

Leave a Comment