New Google Maps feature alerts friends and family when you arrive home safely

If you’re getting together with family or friends this summer and want to know when everyone’s coming and going home, a Google Maps update has you covered. A new location sharing feature in the Google Maps app will notify you of the location of people who already share their location with you.

Google Maps’ new location sharing feature takes the guesswork out of when everyone will be arriving by notifying you when a friend or family member has shown up or left a location, as long as they’re already sharing their location with you. This can be useful if you have a teenager moving out of town or want to let a friend know you’ve arrived at your hangout spot.

We’ll explain how the new location sharing feature works, how to use it, and when it’s available.

How do I receive alerts on Google Maps when friends arrive or leave a place?

Once the new feature is available in the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android, select your profile icon and tap Location sharing. Choose the person you want to request location notifications from the list. Note that she should already be sharing her location with you. Then select To add to add an address to get updates from your friend. You will then choose a designated location, as well as when to be notified (arrival or departure), then press to safeguard.

The person you asked for location notifications will receive an alert that you’ve added the location. Once that person leaves or arrives at the specified location, you will be notified. For example, if your friend has arrived to meet you at a campsite, you will be alerted and can be on the lookout.

The person will also receive several reminders to let them know that they are sharing their location notifications, including a push notification in the Maps app and an email, as well as recurring monthly emails.

Can I turn off this Maps feature if a friend asks to see when I’m arriving or departing?

Yes. If you receive an alert that someone wants to be notified when you arrive or leave a location, you can choose to turn it off. Start by clicking on the notification on your phone’s lock screen. Then turn off the switch to Allow recipients to add notifications. Faucet Switch off to confirm.

You can also block someone from setting notifications.

Once you have done this, the person will no longer be able to add notifications to know when you arrive or leave a specific place. They will also not be notified that you have disabled this feature.


Now Playing:
Look at this:

Google Maps Immersive View reveals inside buildings


1:25

When can I start using the new Google Maps location sharing feature?

Starting today, Google Maps location sharing feature update is rolling out for Android and iOS users. If you don’t see it right away, check that you have the latest version of the app. It could also take a few weeks before you see the new tool.

For more advice, here six Google Maps tricks to use this weekend. Also, here eight Google travel tips to facilitate trip planning.

Leave a Comment